醫療

愛爾蘭醫療系統

醫療:

愛爾蘭醫療體系概覽:
愛爾蘭的醫療制度十分全面,既有由政府資助的公營醫療服務,亦有發展迅速的私營醫療服務。只要居住愛爾蘭超過一年,即可透過健康服務管理署(HSE)管理的公共醫療體系獲得醫療福利。

公共醫療體系主要由愛爾蘭政府資助,再以自願醫療保健計劃及家庭開支填埔赤字,大部分開支用於提供醫院及門診醫療服務的機構,當中以治療、康復護理及長期護理獲最多資助。

雖然公共醫療體系主要由愛爾蘭政府資助,但個別人土可能須支付未經轉介的意外及急症室等醫療服務費。為了讓能力不足者可負擔醫療費用,愛爾蘭政府引入醫療卡(Medical Card)機制,讓持卡人免費享用醫療服務。各年齡層的醫療卡持有人數近年增加,因此愛爾蘭再推出「全科醫生訪問卡」(GP Visit Card),讓持有人及其家人獲得全科醫生免費治療。愛爾蘭居民亦可使用「藥物卡」(Drugs Payment Scheme)機制,將個人或家庭每月處方藥開支上限訂為144歐元。

愛爾蘭大部分醫院由健康服務管理署直接營運,亦有很多醫院以教學醫院、宗教醫院或私立醫院形式提供志願服務,並以公帑資助。

Healthcare in Ireland

私人醫療保險

私家醫療保險概覽
雖然愛爾蘭公共醫療體系提供廉價治療,但很多愛爾蘭人為免等候需時而購買私人醫療保險,用作支付保險的保費可以扣稅,有些僱主亦以醫療保險作為聘用待遇。

所有私家醫療保險公司須經獨立監管全國私家醫療保險的健康保險局(Health Insurance Authority)註冊,列明受保人士權利及選擇保險建議。提供住院醫療服務的保險公商必須提供以下服務:

  • 日間護理/住院治療
  • 醫院門診治療
  • 產婦津貼
  • 療養
  • 精神科治療及濫用藥物
  • 公立醫院最低住宿標準為半私人病房

雖然你的治療屬私人資助,但可能要在公立醫院接受治療,因為公立醫院亦為增加入息而提供私人或半私人床位,故你會得到私家患者的服務,並須支付服務全費。

醫療保險公司必須為你終身承保,即不能拒絕提供保險,且不論客人年齡、性別和健康情況承保,但你或須等待保險生效。然而,若你這次為另一家保險公司提供服務,則轉到另一家保險公司時無須再做。與汽車保險或人壽保險不同,年齡、性別、健康及索償記錄都不會影響你的醫療保險費用,因此所有成年人支付相同保費,就會享有相同資源。而未滿18歲人士、18歲至23歲的全日制學生、公司醫療保險計劃中的優待退休人員,以及團體醫療保險計劃人士,需要支付的保險費可能低於其他成年人。

五大私家醫院簡介:

埃爾米塔醫療診所(The Hermitage Medical Clinic):
位於都柏林西部盧肯的埃爾米塔醫療診所擁有112張病床,專業醫療團隊為病人提供醫療、外科和先進放射治療,服務專業,技術尖端,並擁有當今最先進的診斷成像設備、全套心臟病學設施,包括心臟導管套件和臨床實驗室服務。

醫院臨床專業包括手術、醫學、內窺鏡檢查、腫瘤學和介入診斷,病床的深切治療部及重症加護醫學擁有8張,並設有日托設施、2個用於放射治療的線性加速器,手術室套房則有七間手術室。

尖端放射設備包括磁力共振(MRI)、正電子斷層掃描(PET/ CT)、核醫學、64切面電腦掃描、乳房X光照相、超聲波、X光及熒光檢查,以及完整放射信息管理系統及醫療影像儲傳系統(RIS/ PACs)。

埃爾米塔醫療診所設有39間諮詢室,由不同範疇的權威醫生掌管,包括敏感科、乳腺外科、結直腸外科、皮膚科、耳鼻喉外科、胃腸病學、普通外科、婦科、健康檢查、介入心臟病科、口腔顎面外科,神經病科、核醫科、腫瘤科、眼科、口腔外科、骨科、兒科、牙周病科、整形外科、修復科、心理科、呼吸系統科、風濕病科、泌尿科和血管外科。

黑石診所(Blackrock Clinic):
黑石診所是愛爾蘭最重要又最資深的私家醫院之,於1980年代中成立,一直以高科技外科手術、藥物治療及診斷技術聞名於世,因此雲集國內和國際頂尖醫生。

黑山診所大受病人好評,也是第一間提供單人病房治療的醫院,從而減少醫院內的感染,十多年前已獲確證醫院安全水平和照顧標準的國際聯合委員會(JCI)認可。

燈塔醫院(Beacon Hospital):
位於都柏林南部的燈塔醫院是歐洲最先進的私家醫院之一,提供24小時世界級急性護理服務,包括骨科、物理治療、心臓科、婦科、泌尿科、心胸外科、血管外科、整形和重建外科、耳鼻喉科、神經科、普通外科、綜合癌症護理和急診醫學。醫院於2006年10月開業,擁有210張病床、9個手術室和2個線性加速器。

醫院擁有260位醫生和1000位高級技術人員,每年治療超過11萬個病人。醫療外科深切治療部(ICU)擁有8張病床,心臟重症加護病房則有6張病房,專門提供病人護理和康復服務,以全面預防及控制感染聞名,盡顯醫院致力提供歐洲最優秀、最安全的急診服務。醫院亦擁有愛爾蘭最筅進的放射診斷科,亦有愛爾蘭唯一專用私人兒科病房Beacon for Kids,提供各種門診服務和外科手術程序,其快速進入心臟診所(RACC)讓病人可快速獲得心臓評估,等候時間遠比其他著名心臟科醫生的服務短。

彭斯克私家醫院(Bon Secours Private Hospital)1 :

都柏林彭斯克私家醫院 是位於都柏林北部格拉斯內文的獨立急性護理醫院,自1951年為都柏林及愛爾蘭各地病人提供醫療服務,它是愛爾蘭最大醫療集團彭斯克醫療體系(Bon Secours Health System)分支,旗下其他醫院位於科克、都柏林、高威、利默里克和特拉利,亦有位於科克的護理村和卡文郡的外展診所。

都柏林彭斯克私家醫院既是彭斯克醫療體制分支,因此是一個非牟利組織,旨在為大眾提供博愛和一流的醫療服務。2002年,醫院獲得國際聯合委員會認證,成為愛爾蘭第一間獲國際認可的醫院,成為全國所有私家醫院的典範,如今所有醫院都要得到國際聯合委員會認證。2016年,醫院另一殊榮是成為首間因內窺鏡科獲JAG認證的私家醫院,JAG被譽為內窺鏡科的最高標準。醫院籽合尖端醫療技術、傳統價值、博愛和個性化醫療服務,醫療水平享譽國際。

聖文森特私家醫院(St. Vincent’s Private hospital):
聖文森特私家醫院是都柏林規模最大的單一急性私家醫院,在愛爾蘭唯一綜合多元醫學院提供最多醫生和最多元專業護理。醫院位於聖文森特大學醫院,雙方共用資源、專業知識和醫學設施,足以應付大量病人、複雜病症和手術要求,提供服務包括:

• 數目最多、範疇最廣的醫生顧問及顧問領導的跨學科團隊
• 重視病人整體護理,提供一系列臨床和心理支援服務
• 以各種醫療保險計劃為病人提供私人治療及病床
• 安全及嚴控醫院環境,符合所有國家及國際認證標準

聖文森特私立醫院是聖文森特醫療保健集團(St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group)的分支,旗下還有聖文森特大學醫院(St. Vincent’s University Hospital),榆樹園和聖邁克爾醫院(Elm Park and St. Michael’s Hospital)及鄧勞格海爾(Dun Laoghaire)。

Health Care
Health Care

fbpx
Healthcare

Irish Healthcare System

The healthcare system in Ireland is considered to be a comprehensive system with a public health service funded by the government and an expanding private health care service. Individuals who are resident in Ireland for at least one year are entitled to receive health care through the public healthcare system managed by the Health Service Executive (HSE).

The public healthcare system is heavily funded by the Irish Government, with the deficit paid through voluntary health care payments and household spending. A large proportion of expenditure goes towards hospitals and ambulatory health care providers, of which curative and rehabilitative care and long-term care receive the largest financial support.

Although the public healthcare system is largely financed by the Irish Government, individuals may be required to pay fees for certain health care services such as attending an accident and emergency department without a referral. To enable people who otherwise cannot afford to pay for healthcare treatment a Medical Card system was introduced. This Card entitles individuals to access a range of health services free of charge. The number of individuals entitled to a Medical Card has increased in recent years irrespective of the age of applicants. A subsequent system in place is the GP Visit Card scheme which allows individuals and families to visit their GP for free. Another system in place, which residents may apply for, is the Drugs Payment Scheme, which caps the amount that an individual or family has to pay per month for approved prescribed medication at 144 euros.

The majority of hospitals in Ireland are operated directly by the HSE, however many are run under a voluntary basis by public funding, as a teaching hospital, in conjunction with a religious ethos or as private hospitals.

Healthcare in Ireland

Private Health Insurance

Although Ireland’s public health system offers treatment at a significantly reduced rate, the long waitlists turn many Irish to private health insurance. Tax relief is available for premiums paid for health insurance. Some employers may provide health insurance as part of their employment package.

All private health insurance providers are registered with the Health Insurance Authority which is the country’s independent regulator for private health insurance. They also provide information about your rights, and advice about how to select your plan. Health insurance providers that offer inpatient hospital services must provide a minimum level of benefits:

  • Day care/in-patient treatment
  • Hospital out-patient treatment
  • Maternity benefits
  • Convalescence
  • Psychiatric treatment and substance abuse
  • The minimum accommodation level is semi-private in a public hospital.

Although your treatment may be privately funded, you may find yourself receiving treatment at a public hospital. That’s because the public hospitals provide a number of private or semi-private beds to boost their income. Consequently, you will be treated as a private patient and charged the full cost for the services provided.

Health insurance companies must provide you with lifetime cover. This means that they cannot refuse to provide you cover. They must also accept anyone who wishes to join regardless of their age, sex or health status, but you will be subject to waiting periods before the cover takes effect. However, if you have already served this time with another insurer you do not need to do so again when transferring to another provider.

Unlike other insurances such as motor or life insurance, your age, sex, health or past record of claims does not affect the price that you will be charged for your health insurance. Therefore, all adults pay equally for the same amount of benefits. However, charges for people aged under 18, people aged 18 to 23 who are in full-time education, retired people who have a special arrangement within their company’s health insurance scheme and people in group health insurance schemes may all be on a lower rate than the normal adult rate.

Top 5 Private Hospitals

The Hermitage:

The Hermitage Medical Clinic is a 112 bed private hospital in Lucan, West Dublin. Their specialised medical teams provide medical, surgical and advanced radiotherapy care to patients. The Clinic offers an outstanding level of expertise and cutting edge technology. They have the most advanced diagnostic imaging equipment available today, full Cardiological facilities including a Cardiac Catheterisation Suite and Clinical Laboratory services.

Their clinical specialities include surgery, medicine, endoscopy, oncology and interventional diagnostics. They have an 8-bedded ICU/HDU, daycare facility, 2 linear accelerators for radiotherapy and the Theatre Suite has 7 operating rooms.

The most up to date radiology equipment is available including MRI, PET/CT, Nuclear Medicine, 64 slice CT, Mammography, Ultrasound, X-ray and Fluoroscopy. They also have a fully integrated RIS/PACs system.

The Hermitage Medical Clinic has 39 consultant suites occupied by leading practitioners across a wide range of disciplines including Allergy, Breast Surgery, Colorectal Surgery, Dermatology, ENT Surgery, Gastroenterology, General Surgery, Gynaecology, Health Screening, Interventional Cardiology, Maxillofacial, Neurology, Nuclear Medicine, Oncology, Ophthalmology, Oral Surgery, Orthopaedics, Paediatrics, Periodontology, Plastic Surgery, Prosthodontology, Psychology, Respiratory, Rheumatology, Urology and Vascular Surgery.

 

Blackrock Clinic:

Blackrock Clinic is on of the leading and longest established private hospitals in Ireland.  Since it opened in the mid 1980s, the Clinic has consistently built a strong reputation in new high-tech surgical procedures, medical treatments and ground-breaking diagnostics. This reputation means that some of the best international and national consultants work at Blackrock Clinic.

Patient outcomes at Blackrock Clinic are very positive. They were the first hospital to provide treatment in single-patient rooms, thus reducing the risk of hospital acquired infections.  Blackrock Clinic has been recognised for over ten years by the Joint Commission International (JCI) which accredits only hospitals that raise safety and quality of care standards to the highest levels.

 

Beacon Hospital:

Located in South Dublin, Beacon Hospital is one of the most advanced private hospitals in Europe. It provides 24 hour, world-class acute care services including orthopaedics, physiotherapy, cardiology, women’s health, urology, cardiothoracic surgery, vascular surgery, plastic & reconstructive surgery, ENT, neurology, general surgery, comprehensive cancer care and emergency medicine. The private hospital, which opened in October 2006, has 210 beds, nine operating theatres, and two linear accelerators.

With over 260 Consultants and 1000 highly skilled personnel, the hospital treats over 110,000 patients each year. Their eight bed medical-surgical intensive care unit (ICU) and 6 bed corony care (CCU) unit are designed to provide specialised patient care and recovery. Beacon Hospital prides itself on a comprehensive infection prevention & control programme, highlighting the hospital’s commitment to being one of the highest-quality and safest provider of acute care services in Europe. They also have Ireland’s most advanced diagnostic radiology unit. Beacon for Kids is Ireland’s only dedicated private Paediatric Unit offering a range of outpatient services and surgical procedures. Their Rapid Access Cardiology Clinic (RACC) can offer cardiac assessments without waiting times from some of the countries finest Consultant Cardiologists.

 

Bon Secours Private Hospital:

The Bon Secours Private Hospital in Dublin is an independent acute care hospital located in Glasnevin in North Dublin providing medical care to patients from Dublin and across Ireland since 1951. The Bon Secours Hospital Dublin is part of the Bon Secours Health System Ireland’s largest healthcare group and includes hospitals in Cork, Dublin, Galway, Limerick, Tralee, a care village in Cork and an outreach Clinic in Cavan.

The Bon Secours Hospital Dublin as part of the Bon Secours Health System is a non for profit organisation with its mission centred on providing compassionate, world class medical treatment to all those it serves. In 2002, the hospital was the first internationally accredited hospital in Ireland when it achieved JCI Accreditation. The hospital set the standard for all Private Hospitals in Ireland and all hospitals are now required to be JCI accredited. In 2016, the hospital achieved another first when it became the first private hospital to achieve JAG accreditation of its endoscopy unit which is widely recognised internationally as the gold standard for endoscopy units. The hospital is renowned for the quality of medical service provision and combines the latest medical technologies and approaches with traditional values, compassion and personalised medical care.

 

St. Vincent’s Private hospital:

St. Vincent’s Private Hospital is the single, biggest acute private hospital in Dublin. They offer the highest number of consultants and the widest range of specialist care in Ireland’s only integrated multi-hospital campus. Situated on the same grounds as St. Vincent’s University Hospital, they share resources, expertise and medical facilities with one of the country’s leading academic teaching hospital. This means that they have the capacity to deal with a high volume of patients with a variety of different and often complex medical and surgical requirements. They offer:

  • Access to the highest number and broadest range of consultant specialities and consultant led multi-disciplinary teams
  • A range of clinical and psychological support services which recognises the importance of the holistic care of the patient
  • Access to private medical treatment and beds for patients on a wide range of health insurance plans
  • A safe, carefully controlled hospital environment meeting all national and international accreditation standards

St. Vincent’s Private Hospital is part of the St. Vincent’s Healthcare Group which also includes St. Vincent’s University Hospital, Elm Park and St. Michael’s Hospital, Dun Laoghaire.

Health Care
Health Care